MEDIA ADVISORY: As East Coast Blizzard Hits, I.I.I. Experts Available to Discuss Insurance Coverage Issues over the Weekend

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
New York Press Office: (212) 346-5500; media@iii.org

 

NEW YORK, January 22, 2016 — Reporters covering the winter storm expected to impact multiple East Coast states this weekend can contact the Insurance Information Institute (I.I.I.) with questions about the various coverages provided by insurance policies.

 

Wind damage and property losses occurring due either to weight of snow or burst pipes are generally covered under standard homeowners, renters and business insurance policies. Flood damage is excluded under these policies; flood coverage is available, however, from FEMA’s National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) and a few private insurers.

 

The optional comprehensive portion of an auto insurance policy covers wind damage, flooding and the losses occurring to a car because of falling objects, such as tree limbs.

 

Winter storms caused 7 percent of total U.S. insured catastrophe losses between 1995 and 2014.

 

The following I.I.I. staff will be available to answer questions and conduct interviews by phone, Skype or in the studio this weekend (January 23-24).

 

Dr. Robert Hartwig

President of the I.I.I. and economist: 917-453-1885; bobh@iii.org

 

Michael Barry

Vice President, Media Relations: 917-923-8245; michaelb@iii.org

 

Lynne McChristian (Florida)

Florida Media Representativa: 813-480-6446; lynnem@iii.org

  

Elianne González (Florida)

Hispanic Press Officer: 954-684-4410; elianneg@iii.org

 

Bill Davis (Georgia)

Southeastern Media Representative: 770-331-9279; billjoe@bellsouth.net

 

Jeanne Salvatore (Vermont)

Senior Vice President, Public Affairs, and Chief Communications Officer: 917-612-4088; jeannes@iii.org

 

Loretta Worters

Vice President, Communications: 917-620-0982; lorettaw@iii.org

 

RELATED LINKS & RESOURCES:

How Much Snow Can Your Roof Handle? Ice Dams: The Risk and Winter Weather Flood Risks

 

THE I.I.I. IS A NONPROFIT, COMMUNICATIONS ORGANIZATION SUPPORTED BY THE INSURANCE INDUSTRY.

Insurance Information Institute, 110 William Street, New York, NY 10038; (212) 346-5500; www.iii.org

Back to top